Your Best Skincare Routine – Step 3: Exfoliation

Exfoliation is something that is near and dear to my heart. It is a step we often tend to neglect which is unfortunate because exfoliation has so many benefits. There are so many ways to exfoliate and honestly, I can’t list them all. However, here are three of my favorites:

Hello and happy Friday!

I am so excited for this week’s topic. Exfoliation is something that is near and dear to my heart. It is a step we often tend to neglect which is unfortunate because exfoliation has so many benefits. Now, before I continue the tangent on exfoliation, let me explain the basics.

Exfoliation is removing the dead or dry cells from the top layer of your skin. As we continue to age our cell turnover process slows which means a build-up of excess skin cells. Removing those dead skin cells helps to prevent clogged pores and blemishes, will slough away dry patches, even out dark spots or blotchiness from a fake tan, reduce ingrown hairs and can help your skincare products to work better– clearing that dead skin barrier that your face cream must try to penetrate. Exfoliation also improves circulation giving your skin that healthy “glow.”

There are so many ways to exfoliate and honestly, I can’t list them all. However, here are three of my favorites:

Retinol I won’t be shy about how much I love this ingredient! If you look at the research or listen to virtually any dermatologist, you will learn that this is the ingredient that has proven over and over again to provide consistent results with continued use. Retinol is a form of vitamin A which is applied topically as a cream each night.

Clay Masks- This is another favorite of mine! I use a clay mask 2-3 evenings per week. Simply apply the mask to clean skin and as it begins to dry, wipe the mask off with a warm washcloth. The reason I recommend clay masks is because they are gentle. We don’t want to tear our skin up or scrub the living daylights out of it. The clay mask is effective at absorbing dirt and oil from the skin and deep cleaning pores. It will also gently remove dry flaky skin particles and leave your skin feeling incredibly soft.

Scrubs I LOVE body scrubs. In fact, I am convinced that every woman should have a container of body scrub in her shower at all times. Please note, I said body scrub. I love scrubs but feel they are a bit too powerful for use on the face. Body scrubs are made with a manual exfoliant such as sugar, salt, coffee grounds, etc. which is mixed with some type of oil. In the shower, simply massage the scrub onto your body paying special attention to dry areas such as feet, knees and elbows. Then simply rinse the scrub off. The manual exfoliation feels heavenly and your post-shower skin will be unbelievably soft. I like to use a body scrub in my shower 2-3 times per week.

No matter which exfoliation method you choose, there are a few post-exfoliation steps which will help you achieve the best results:

  1. Drink plenty of water. Exfoliation helps to detoxify your skin and improve circulation. Staying hydrated assists your body in eliminating those toxins.
  2. Apply moisturizer. The skin you uncovered will have that fresh, healthy glow when you use a good-quality moisturizer after exfoliating.
  3. Protect yourself from the sun. That layer of dead skin cells provided a thin barrier from sun damage. Be sure to protect the young skin you revealed with a sunscreen that is SPF 35 or greater.

week 3

Have a wonderful weekend my friend!

Candyce

Leave a Reply

